Baked Butternut Squash Pancake with Orange Blackberry Bourbon Compote

On New Year’s Day, I wanted to make a special breakfast for my honey but I wanted it to be good for me, too, after all the holiday indulgences. I hadn’t planned anything ahead of time so I had to scrounge in the fridge, and I saw that we had a bunch of leftover butternut squash from a risotto Chris had made for a dinner party. A quick Google search led me to this recipe, which I revised a little to make it SCD legal and, um, possible.

You see, I have a problem making paleo pancakes. No matter how many times I try, I can’t get it right. I try high heat, low heat, medium heat, cast iron, non-stick ceramic, lots of oil, a little oil, and I inevitably end up with an infuriating glop of pancake mush or burned little pucks. Even when the people who write the recipes swear that this is the best/easiest/simplest paleo pancake ever. I tried frying this batter and the first attempt had to be rinsed down the drain, so I improvised and decided to bake the rest of the batter instead. And, guess what!? It turned out to be delicious! It was also easier and less messy than frying individual pancakes, making this a perfect addition to a low-key weekend breakfast.

Here is what the pancake looks like coming out of the oven. You can kind of see how the edges are pulling away from the pan.

P1000973

And voila. Breakfast. I ate mine without maple syrup and it was still sweet and moist.

P1000977

Baked Butternut Squash Pancake Ingredients (serves 4-6)

  • 2 cups butternut squash, peeled and cubed
  • 3/4 cup almond flour
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • 1/3 cup coconut butter
  • 3 large eggs
  • heaping 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 2 tablespoons butter

Orange Blackberry Bourbon Compote Ingredients

  • 1 small carton blackberries
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • zest of 1/2 orange
  • 1 tablespoon bourbon (or feel free to replace with juice)

Baked Butternut Squash Pancake with Orange Blackberry Bourbon Compote Method

  • Place a cast iron pan on a middle rack in the oven and preheat to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.
  • Meanwhile, combine all compote ingredients in a small saucepan over high heat and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium and let cook for 30-45 minutes, until the fruit is broken down and the liquid somewhat reduced. Remove from heat to let thicken.
  • Place all pancake ingredients, except butter, in a food processor and blend until very smooth.
  • Once the oven is preheated, add the butter to the preheated pan and swirl to coat. Pour pancake batter into the pan. Bake 18-20 minutes, until the top is set and golden and the sides of the pancake are pulling away from the pan. Slice and serve with a generous spoonful of compote, and maple syrup (ok for paleo, not for SCD!).
Leave a Reply

