Dairy Free, Nut Free Peanut Butter Swirl Chocolate Ice Cream!

I might have mentioned like…once or twice…that I really love ice cream, but for multiple reasons I know that normal ice cream is absolutely one of the worst things I can eat. Still, a lifetime without ice cream is not an option. My parents came to visit for the 4th of July, and I asked them to bring their ice cream maker with them, because a) 4th of July = homemade ice cream to me, and b) I had been seeing some very tempting SCD-legal ice cream recipes floating about, but they all required an ice cream maker.

The weekend of the 4th, I made Danielle Walker’s vanilla bean ice cream from her cookbook, Against all Grain. It was simple and so fabulous. We couldn’t get over how much it tasted like the real thing. My parents left the ice cream maker in my temporary custody. If you love ice cream and suffer from IBD, you should just get an ice cream maker. I always thought that would be one of those gadgets that junked up your space and that you only pulled out once a year, but let’s be real, now that I can’t get my ice cream fix any other way, I’m sure it will get a regular workout. You can find them for around 50 dollars and they will provide you with a lifetime of frozen treats.

Chris and I have been overindulging for a few weeks because of a fun trip to Chicago and family visits and celebrations. Usually Friday nights are the one night a week where we go out to dinner or make something a little illegal at home. But I knew I had been doing too much of that for too long lately and I was starting to feel it, so we have been playing it extra safe this week with bone broths, plain banana smoothies, and other belly-friendly foods. For our weekend indulgence we decided to stay at home and keep it mostly legal with burgers on SCD-legal buns (thanks for the millionth time, Danielle Walker!), with baked sweet potato fries and homemade aioli. And for dessert…

CHOCOLATE ICE CREAM WITH A PEANUT BUTTER SWIRL!!!!

I know it seems too good to be true. But seriously, try it. Technically this is not SCD-legal because of the cacao, but I’ve already expressed my feelings on that front elsewhere. It is so rich, not overly sweet, and I love the little salty swirl of “peanut” butter combined with the chocolate.

One time Chris ate a whole jar of peanut butter while his mom wasn’t home and then got sick (duh). He told me after eating this (and his burger and half of mine, and sweet potato fries, and a few beers…) that maybe the peanut butter was too much after all that other stuff. It was only then that I broke it to him that it wasn’t even peanut butter!

Make your custard. When I say it should coat the back of a spoon, this is what it should look like:p1000759

Cover it this way so your custard doesn’t form a gross skin.p1000760

Layer your frozen ice cream and nut butter.p1000763

Once you get the layers in there swirl it around. You don’t want to mix it so much that the nut butter just dissolves into the ice cream, but you also don’t want giant chunks of it in there either.p1000764

So I had had like two glasses of wine when I took this picture. Sorry guys. It clearly affected my (already poor) photography skills. This does not do justice to how delicious the ice cream looked in real life and tasted.p1000767

Peanut Butter Chocolate Ice Cream Ingredients:

  • 2 cans full-fat coconut milk (I buy these  in bulk because they are canned in BPA-free tin)
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 1/2 cup + 1-2 tablespoons honey
  • 1/2 cup pure cacao powder (I use this)
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup sunflower seed butter
  • 3/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • Rock salt
  • Ice

Method

  • Combine coconut milk, egg yolks, 1/2 cup honey, and cacao powder in a cold saucepan
  • Heat over medium-high heat, stirring constantly, until the custard coats the back of a spoon. This takes about 15 minutes. Be careful not to let the mixture boil.
  • Remove from heat. Add vanilla extract. Taste and adjust by adding a bit more honey or cacao to your liking.
  • Cover with plastic wrap so that it actually comes into contact with the top of the custard and refrigerate until cold, about 4 hours. You can do this the night before making your ice cream, if you’d like.
  • Pour into your ice cream maker and freeze according to the manufacturers’ directions.
  • In the meantime, combine sunflower seed butter, sea salt, and remaining honey in a small bowl. Microwave about 20 seconds to soften and combine thoroughly.
  • When the ice cream is frozen, scoop 1/3 out into a freezer-safe air-tight container. Place half the sunflower seed butter mixture on top in dots. Repeat the layers until all ice cream and all sunflower seed butter is used. Swirl with a knife.
  • Cover again with plastic wrap and lid and freeze for 2 hours to cure. Before serving, set out for about 20 minutes to let it soften a bit.

You’re welcome!

 

One thought on “Dairy Free, Nut Free Peanut Butter Swirl Chocolate Ice Cream!

Leave a Reply

